COLORADO – Starting Sunday, July 12, the Colorado Department of Transportation (CDOT), the Colorado State Patrol (CSP) and other local law enforcement will begin a week long Summer 2020 seat belt enforcement period.
This is all part of a new campaign for CDOT to raise awareness about the importance of seat belts.
This comes as CDOT reports only 88 percent of drivers wear seat belts in Colorado, compared to the national rate of 90 percent.
In 2019, CDOT also reports 196 unbuckled drivers and passengers were killed in crashes in the state, accounting for more than half of the 377 total passenger vehicle deaths.
Additonally, CDOT emphasizes how low seat belt use in rural counties is an issue. Delta County here on the Western Slope landed on the top five list of counties with the lowest seat belt use in Colorado in 2019 after a CDOT study, coming in at only 81 percent of drivers.
To get an idea of Colorado’s seat belt laws, take a look at the laws outlined by CDOT below.
COLORADO’S SEAT BELT LAWS
· Adults — Colorado has a secondary enforcement law for adult drivers and front seat passengers. Drivers can be ticketed for violating the seat belt law if they are stopped for another traffic violation.
· Teens — Colorado’s Graduated Drivers Licensing (GDL) law requires all drivers under 18 and their passengers, regardless of their age, to wear seat belts. This is a primary enforcement, meaning teens can be pulled over simply for not wearing a seat belt or having passengers without seat belts.
· Children — Colorado’s Child Passenger Safety law is a primary enforcement, meaning the driver can be stopped and ticketed if an officer sees an unrestrained or improperly restrained child under age 16 in the vehicle.
Fines for not buckling up in Colorado start at $65, and parents or caregivers caught with an improperly restrained child can receive a minimum fine of $82.