GRAND JUNCTION– As winter draws near, the Colorado Department of Transportation has new laws for drivers.
Winter driving on Colorado highways includes traction laws between Dotsero and Morrison.
Motorists must have either snow tires, tires with the mud/snow designation, or a four-wheel drive or all-wheel drive vehicle.
the required minimum tire tread for vehicles on snowy roads has also been increased to 3/16 of an inch.
Drivers can also use chains to comply with the law if the tire tread is too low.
During severe winter storms, CDOT will implement a passenger vehicle chain law.
When the law is in effect, every vehicle on the road must have chains or an alternative traction device.
Fines for inadequate equipment when a passenger vehicle traction law or chain law is in effect start at $130.
Inadequate equipment which causes a road to be blocked could lead to a fine starting at $650.